

Judiciary of Guam

Administrative Office of the Courts Guam Judicial Center • 120 West O'Brien Dr • Hagåtña, Gu. 96910 Tel: (671) 475-3544 • Fax: (671) 475-3184



HON. ROBERT J. TORRES Chief Justice Hon. Alberto C. Lamorena, III Presiding Judge **Danielle T. Rosete, Esq.** Administrator of the Courts

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

March 4, 2025

Judiciary Seeks Nominations for 2025 Hostisia Award

(*Hagåtña*, Guam) — The Judiciary of Guam is pleased to announce that nominations are now open for the 2025 Hostisia Award. The annual award recognizes a person or organization that has made a significant contribution to improving the administration of justice and good government.

"Every year, as part of its Law Month celebration, the Judiciary honors those who've gone above and beyond to advance the cause of justice," said Chief Justice Robert J. Torres. "These individuals demonstrate a deep and abiding commitment to the rule and role of law, and our island is a better place because of their service."

The selection committee will consider nominees under the following criteria:

- fostered building public support for the judiciary,
- promoted respect for the law and understanding of the judicial system,
- encouraged civic responsibility and service, and
- volunteered time and talents to the court in serving the people of Guam.

Past Hostisia Award recipients include the Honorable Joaquin Cruz Perez (posthumous) (2024); Guam Behavioral Health & Wellness Center (2023); Retired Judge Elizabeth Barret-Anderson (2022); Retired Magistrate Joaquin V.E. Manibusan, Jr. (2021); Retired Chief Justice Peter C. Siguenza (posthumous) (2020); Guam Chamber of Commerce (2019); Erica's House, Soroptimist International of Guam and Soroptimist International of the Marianas (2018); Inafa'Maolek (2017); Public Defender Service Corporation (2016); former Senator Pilar Cruz Lujan (2015); Attorney Joaquin C. Arriola, Sr. (2014); Vice Speaker Benjamin J.F. Cruz (2013); Judge Richard H. Benson (2012); retired District Court of Guam Judge Cristobal C. Duenas (posthumous) (2011); retired Supreme Court of Guam Justice Janet Healy Weeks (2010), Alee Shelter Program Director Sister Bridget Perez, RSM (2009); and the Armed Forces of the United States (2008).

Nominations should include a statement about the nominee (limit 250 words). Please submit nominations by **Friday**, **April 4**, **2025** to Ms. Sarah Elmore-Hernandez, Director of Policy Planning & Community Relations via email at <u>sehernandez@guamcourts.gov</u>.

###